North Central College
Biology faculty


Department Chairperson: Jonathan Visick, Professor of Biology
(Acting Chair for Spring 2015: Stephen Johnston, Professor of Biology)

Silvia Alvarez-Clare

Silvia M. Alvarez-Clare

Ecology & Botany

(630) 637-5175 | smalvarezclare@noctrl.edu

Assistant Professor (2014)

BS, Univ. de Costa Rica (2001)

MS, Univ. of Florida (2005)

PhD, Univ. of Florida (2012)

Post-doc, Argonne Nat. Lab. & U. Montana (2012-14)

Dr. Alvarez-Clare's
profile page

Steve Johnston

Stephen D. Johnston

Cell & Molecular Biology

(630) 637-5188 | sdjohnston@noctrl.edu

Professor (1999)

Hruby Professor in Liberal Arts & Sciences

BS, MS Iowa State Univ. (1990, 1991)

PhD, U. of Wisconsin (1996)

Post-doc, U. of Minnesota (1996-1999)

Dr. Johnston's
profile page

Greg Ruthig

Gregory R. Ruthig

Zoology & Evolution

(630) 637-5186 | grruthig@noctrl.edu

Assistant Professor (2011)

BS, Washington & Lee (1998)

PhD, U. of Virginia (2006)

Post-doc, U. of Arizona (2006-2008)

Dr. Ruthig's
profile page

Jennifer Sallee

Jennifer L. Sallee

Genetics & Development

(630) 637-5183 | jlsallee@noctrl.edu

Assistant Professor (2013)

BS Roger Williams Univ. (2002)

PhD, U. of North Carolina (2008)

Post-doc, Duke University (2009-2013)

Dr. Sallee's
profile page

Jonathan Visick

Jonathan E. Visick

Microbiology & Genetics

(630) 637-5185 | jevisick@noctrl.edu

Professor (2000) and Dept. Chair

BS, Brigham Young Univ. (1984)

MS, PhD, U. of Washington (1987, 1991)

Post-doc, UCLA (1994-1998)

Dr. Visick's
profile page

John Zenchak

John J. Zenchak

Physiology & Behavior

(630) 637-5182 | jjzenchak@noctrl.edu

Professor (1978)

Daniel Ruge Fellow

BA, Youngstown State Univ. (1966)

MS, West Virginia Univ. (1970)

PhD, West Virginia Univ. (1976)

Dr. Zenchak's
profile page

Half-Time and Visiting Faculty
Patti Engel

Patti L. Engel

Physiology

(630) 637-5997 | plengel@noctrl.edu

Adjunct Assistant Professor (2012)

BS, Ferris State Univ. (1980)

PhD, Univ. of Illinois at Chicago (2006)

Post-doc, Univ. of Illinois at Chicago (2006-2008)

Dr. Engel's
profile page

Staff
Julie Dumler

Julie Dumler

(630) 637-5181 | jdumler@noctrl.edu

FAX (630) 637-5180

Division secretary

 
Hillary Logan

Hillary L. Logan

(630) 637-5115 | hllogan@noctrl.edu

Life Sciences Laboratory Manager

 
Emeritus Faculty
Terry Marsh

Terrence G. Marsh

tgmarsh@noctrl.edu

Professor Emeritus (1969)

AB, Earlham College (1963

MS, Oregon State Univ. (1965)

PhD, Univ. of Kentucky (1969)

Dr. Marsh's
research & teaching page

Wes Stieg

Wesley F. Stieg

wfstieg@noctrl.edu

Professor Emeritus (1960)

BA, North Central College (1956)

MS, Univ. of Illinois (1959)

PhD, Chicago Medical School (1973)

Dr. Stieg's
research & teaching page

Tom Williams

Thomas A. Williams

tawilliams@noctrl.edu

Associate Professor Emeritus (1981)

BA, Willamette Univ. (1971)

MA, Drake Univ. (1975)

PhD, Washington State Univ. (1984)

Dr. Williams's
research & teaching page